Is it okay if my feelings for you have changed?
Not out of hate, but they’ve rearranged.
I sensed this shift coming, I held on tight,
But now, it’s time to bid those feelings goodnight.

It’s not about blame, it’s just the way things unfold,
Our paths diverge, as new stories are told.
So let’s part with kindness, with no need for remorse,
For in letting go, we open new doors.

I poured my soul into every word I uttered,
My feelings laid bare, no facade, no clutter.
Each day, my heart’s song echoed loud and clear,
Hoping you’d join in, drawing us near.

You joined in, singing in sweet harmony,
Yet commitment’s silence cast a shadow on our symphony.
Our voices intertwined, but with diverging trails,
Leaving our melody unfinished, amidst life’s veils

I could also say it was my fault
Because you told me that you weren’t ready right from day one
But if you weren’t, you shouldn’t have led me on
Or kept me around, when you knew I wanted more

You reciprocated my feelings for you
But in the midst of my happiness, I was always confused
Because you said you liked me, and it’s been a long time
And now I wonder if those feelings were only mine

You should’ve let me go, I would’ve delt with the pain
I know very well I should’ve walked away
But I was holding on to the possibilities of the future
Even though I knew deep down, I wasn’t in yours

I’ve made peace with myself and its time to let you go
My feelings for you were genuine but I’m afraid I can no longer let them grow
This is the ending of our not-quite-love tale,
Where we teetered between friendship and the unknown, to no avail.

©Omotunde 30/03/2024

One response to “Is it okay if my feelings for you have changed?”

  1. The way I can relate to this 😭🫶🏾

    Like

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started